PopMuse: Europe Economy http://popmu.se Musings of stuff en-us Copyright 2007-2020 http://creativecommons.org/licenses/by-nc-sa/3.0/ The outsourcers hoping to gain from the crisis https://www.ft.com/content/ab7a1623-874b-4586-ac5b-8e3747941219 https://www.ft.com/content/ab7a1623-874b-4586-ac5b-8e3747941219 Wed, 03 Jun 2020 03:00:08 UTC Europe Poland is hoping to benefit from difficulties caused by the chaotic nature of India’s lockdown http://creativecommons.org/licenses/by-nc-sa/3.0/ Time to Take a Semester Off? https://www.wsj.com/articles/time-to-take-a-semester-off-11591141073 https://www.wsj.com/articles/time-to-take-a-semester-off-11591141073 Tue, 02 Jun 2020 23:37:00 UTC RSSOpinion The disruptions wrought by coronavirus cause students to consider delaying a return to college. http://creativecommons.org/licenses/by-nc-sa/3.0/ Liberal Cities, Radical Mayhem https://www.wsj.com/articles/liberal-cities-radical-mayhem-11591140986 https://www.wsj.com/articles/liberal-cities-radical-mayhem-11591140986 Tue, 02 Jun 2020 23:36:00 UTC RSSOpinion Democratic mayors and governors seem unable to stop the destruction of their own cities. http://creativecommons.org/licenses/by-nc-sa/3.0/ Mush From Joe Biden https://www.wsj.com/articles/mush-from-joe-biden-11591140850 https://www.wsj.com/articles/mush-from-joe-biden-11591140850 Tue, 02 Jun 2020 23:34:00 UTC RSSOpinion Why can’t he condemn the violence with more than half a breath? http://creativecommons.org/licenses/by-nc-sa/3.0/ The Lockdown Tinderbox https://www.wsj.com/articles/the-lockdown-tinderbox-11591140534 https://www.wsj.com/articles/the-lockdown-tinderbox-11591140534 Tue, 02 Jun 2020 23:28:00 UTC RSSOpinion How the pandemic and shutdown may have fueled the rioting. http://creativecommons.org/licenses/by-nc-sa/3.0/ Trump's Good College Try https://www.wsj.com/articles/trumps-good-college-try-11591140390 https://www.wsj.com/articles/trumps-good-college-try-11591140390 Tue, 02 Jun 2020 23:26:00 UTC RSSOpinion He helps schools by vetoing a resolution to restore an Obama rule. http://creativecommons.org/licenses/by-nc-sa/3.0/ The Measure of New York's Coronavirus Devastation https://www.wsj.com/articles/the-measure-of-new-yorks-coronavirus-devastation-11591140254 https://www.wsj.com/articles/the-measure-of-new-yorks-coronavirus-devastation-11591140254 Tue, 02 Jun 2020 23:24:00 UTC RSSOpinion Raw numbers don’t tell the whole story. A new study looks at ‘excess deaths.’ http://creativecommons.org/licenses/by-nc-sa/3.0/ Politicians Serve Orwellian Tennis Rules https://www.wsj.com/articles/politicians-serve-orwellian-tennis-rules-11591139878 https://www.wsj.com/articles/politicians-serve-orwellian-tennis-rules-11591139878 Tue, 02 Jun 2020 23:18:00 UTC RSSOpinion The few open courts have patronizing regulations in place with little real relation to public health. http://creativecommons.org/licenses/by-nc-sa/3.0/ Will Lawyers Act With Honor After Covid? https://www.wsj.com/articles/will-lawyers-act-with-honor-after-covid-11591139840 https://www.wsj.com/articles/will-lawyers-act-with-honor-after-covid-11591139840 Tue, 02 Jun 2020 23:17:00 UTC RSSOpinion My profession should support safe-harbor rules, not capitalize on uncertainty. http://creativecommons.org/licenses/by-nc-sa/3.0/ Every Protester Has a Reason https://www.wsj.com/articles/every-protester-has-a-reason-11591139704 https://www.wsj.com/articles/every-protester-has-a-reason-11591139704 Tue, 02 Jun 2020 23:15:00 UTC RSSOpinion I’ll bet the Covid shutdowns have something to do with the plague of riots. http://creativecommons.org/licenses/by-nc-sa/3.0/