PopMuse: The Americas Economy http://popmu.se Musings of stuff en-us Copyright 2007-2020 http://creativecommons.org/licenses/by-nc-sa/3.0/ Visas for Hong Kong https://www.wsj.com/articles/visas-for-hong-kong-11590792802 https://www.wsj.com/articles/visas-for-hong-kong-11590792802 Sat, 30 May 2020 02:39:00 UTC RSSOpinion Punish China by offering the city’s people a home in the U.K. and U.S. http://creativecommons.org/licenses/by-nc-sa/3.0/ Congresswoman Valerie Plame? https://www.wsj.com/articles/congresswoman-valerie-plame-11590792699 https://www.wsj.com/articles/congresswoman-valerie-plame-11590792699 Sat, 30 May 2020 00:35:00 UTC RSSOpinion She rewrites the Scooter Libby scandal history as she runs for Congress. http://creativecommons.org/licenses/by-nc-sa/3.0/ The Gig Is Down in Seattle https://www.wsj.com/articles/the-gig-is-down-in-seattle-11590792753 https://www.wsj.com/articles/the-gig-is-down-in-seattle-11590792753 Fri, 29 May 2020 22:52:00 UTC RSSOpinion The People’s Republic of Western Washington hammers app firms that are pandemic lifesavers. http://creativecommons.org/licenses/by-nc-sa/3.0/ Democrats Bite the Bullet Train https://www.wsj.com/articles/democrats-bite-the-bullet-train-11590792629 https://www.wsj.com/articles/democrats-bite-the-bullet-train-11590792629 Fri, 29 May 2020 22:50:00 UTC RSSOpinion The coronavirus may finally kill Jerry Brown’s boondoggle to nowhere. http://creativecommons.org/licenses/by-nc-sa/3.0/ Twin Cities Cops Stand and Watch as Buildings Burn https://www.wsj.com/articles/twin-cities-cops-stand-and-watch-as-buildings-burn-11590791859 https://www.wsj.com/articles/twin-cities-cops-stand-and-watch-as-buildings-burn-11590791859 Fri, 29 May 2020 22:37:00 UTC RSSOpinion Local business owners say they are willing to use force if necessary to keep their shops from being looted. http://creativecommons.org/licenses/by-nc-sa/3.0/ We've Hardly Gotten to Know You, Coronavirus https://www.wsj.com/articles/weve-hardly-gotten-to-know-you-coronavirus-11590791799 https://www.wsj.com/articles/weve-hardly-gotten-to-know-you-coronavirus-11590791799 Fri, 29 May 2020 22:36:00 UTC RSSOpinion One of the worst things about the new abnormal Covid has brought on is the uncertainty. http://creativecommons.org/licenses/by-nc-sa/3.0/ The State Pension Crisis Goes Beyond the Big Blue States https://www.wsj.com/articles/the-state-pension-crisis-goes-beyond-the-big-blue-states-11590791639 https://www.wsj.com/articles/the-state-pension-crisis-goes-beyond-the-big-blue-states-11590791639 Fri, 29 May 2020 22:34:00 UTC RSSOpinion Politicians and fund administrators everywhere wasted the reform potential of an 11-year bull market. http://creativecommons.org/licenses/by-nc-sa/3.0/ Lockdowns vs. the Vulnerable https://www.wsj.com/articles/lockdowns-vs-the-vulnerable-11590791538 https://www.wsj.com/articles/lockdowns-vs-the-vulnerable-11590791538 Fri, 29 May 2020 22:32:00 UTC RSSOpinion A strategy that ignores trade-offs and the dimension of time badly served coronavirus victims. http://creativecommons.org/licenses/by-nc-sa/3.0/ Sherman's Genius---and Other Books to Read https://www.wsj.com/articles/frederick-douglass-in-public-and-in-private-plus-napoleons-myth-making-the-life-of-a-los-angeles-library-and-more-1539379282 https://www.wsj.com/articles/frederick-douglass-in-public-and-in-private-plus-napoleons-myth-making-the-life-of-a-los-angeles-library-and-more-1539379282 Fri, 29 May 2020 21:07:00 UTC RSSOpinion http://creativecommons.org/licenses/by-nc-sa/3.0/ The Overlooked Disparity: Coronavirus Kills Mostly Men https://www.wsj.com/articles/the-overlooked-disparity-coronavirus-mostly-kills-men-11590775292 https://www.wsj.com/articles/the-overlooked-disparity-coronavirus-mostly-kills-men-11590775292 Fri, 29 May 2020 18:01:00 UTC RSSOpinion In the U.S., 54% of those killed by the virus are male. For younger patients the disparity is greater. http://creativecommons.org/licenses/by-nc-sa/3.0/