PopMuse: Children http://popmu.se Musings of stuff en-us Copyright 2007-2020 http://creativecommons.org/licenses/by-nc-sa/3.0/ Black History Movies That Tackle Racism https://www.commonsensemedia.org/blog/black-history-movies-that-tackle-racism https://www.commonsensemedia.org/blog/black-history-movies-that-tackle-racism Tue, 02 Jun 2020 21:04:00 UTC Betsy Bozdech at Common Sense Blog - Parenting, media, and everything in between - No name From the United States' shameful�history of slavery to the ongoing debate about immigration, race in America has alwa http://creativecommons.org/licenses/by-nc-sa/3.0/ Common Sense Media Resources About Race and Racism https://www.commonsensemedia.org/blog/common-sense-media-resources-about-race-and-racism https://www.commonsensemedia.org/blog/common-sense-media-resources-about-race-and-racism Tue, 02 Jun 2020 18:47:00 UTC Caroline Knorr at Common Sense Blog - Parenting, media, and everything in between - No name Today's kids are growing up in a world where anyone can create anything they wish -- a YouTube video, a meme, a tweet http://creativecommons.org/licenses/by-nc-sa/3.0/ 5 Apps to Boost Math Skills over the Summer https://www.commonsensemedia.org/blog/5-apps-to-boost-math-skills-over-the-summer https://www.commonsensemedia.org/blog/5-apps-to-boost-math-skills-over-the-summer Tue, 02 Jun 2020 01:25:00 UTC Christine Elgersma at Common Sense Blog - Parenting, media, and everything in between - No name Daily math practice doesn't have to be -- and, in fact, shouldn't be --�drill-and-kill. http://creativecommons.org/licenses/by-nc-sa/3.0/ How to Talk with Kids About Racism and Racial Violence https://www.commonsensemedia.org/blog/how-to-talk-with-kids-about-racism-and-racial-violence https://www.commonsensemedia.org/blog/how-to-talk-with-kids-about-racism-and-racial-violence Mon, 01 Jun 2020 23:42:00 UTC Allison Briscoe-Smith at Common Sense Blog - Parenting, media, and everything in between - No name Our kids are feeling the impact of the pandemic, including its disproportionate impact on people of color. http://creativecommons.org/licenses/by-nc-sa/3.0/ How White Parents Can Use Media to Raise Anti-Racist Kids https://www.commonsensemedia.org/blog/how-white-parents-can-use-media-to-raise-anti-racist-kids https://www.commonsensemedia.org/blog/how-white-parents-can-use-media-to-raise-anti-racist-kids Sat, 30 May 2020 00:02:00 UTC Sierra Filucci at Common Sense Blog - Parenting, media, and everything in between - No name Parents of Black and brown kids know that instilling their kids with a sense of racial identity and talking about how http://creativecommons.org/licenses/by-nc-sa/3.0/ Online Camps Fill Kids' Summer with Learning Adventures https://www.commonsensemedia.org/blog/15-online-camps-fill-kids-summer-with-learning-adventures https://www.commonsensemedia.org/blog/15-online-camps-fill-kids-summer-with-learning-adventures Fri, 29 May 2020 11:06:00 UTC Caroline Knorr at Common Sense Blog - Parenting, media, and everything in between - No name OK, so summer 2020 won't be the idyllic canoeing-on-the-lake camp you might have envisioned for your kid. http://creativecommons.org/licenses/by-nc-sa/3.0/ Parents' Ultimate Guide to Minecraft https://www.commonsensemedia.org/blog/parents-ultimate-guide-to-minecraft https://www.commonsensemedia.org/blog/parents-ultimate-guide-to-minecraft Tue, 26 May 2020 21:27:00 UTC Caroline Knorr at Common Sense Blog - Parenting, media, and everything in between - No name One of the best-selling independently developed and published video games, Minecraf http://creativecommons.org/licenses/by-nc-sa/3.0/ Keeping Kids Motivated for Online Learning https://www.commonsensemedia.org/blog/keeping-kids-motivated-for-online-learning https://www.commonsensemedia.org/blog/keeping-kids-motivated-for-online-learning Wed, 20 May 2020 22:02:00 UTC Caroline Knorr at Common Sense Blog - Parenting, media, and everything in between - No name Over the past few weeks, we parents have had to wear many hats: teacher, librarian, camp counselor, online meeting sc http://creativecommons.org/licenses/by-nc-sa/3.0/ Books FTW! Summer Reading Challenges to Hook Kids on Books https://www.commonsensemedia.org/blog/books-ftw-summer-reading-challenges-to-hook-kids-on-books https://www.commonsensemedia.org/blog/books-ftw-summer-reading-challenges-to-hook-kids-on-books Tue, 19 May 2020 21:12:00 UTC Frannie Ucciferri at Common Sense Blog - Parenting, media, and everything in between - No name For many kids, summer means trading in reading logs and library visits for screen time and " http://creativecommons.org/licenses/by-nc-sa/3.0/ Free Online Events and Activities for Kids at Home https://www.commonsensemedia.org/blog/free-online-events-activities-kids-at-home-coronavirus https://www.commonsensemedia.org/blog/free-online-events-activities-kids-at-home-coronavirus Fri, 15 May 2020 19:20:00 UTC Frannie Ucciferri at Common Sense Blog - Parenting, media, and everything in between - No name Thanks to the spread of COVID-19, everything is getting canceled. http://creativecommons.org/licenses/by-nc-sa/3.0/