PopMuse: Taxes http://popmu.se Musings of stuff en-us Copyright 2007-2019 http://creativecommons.org/licenses/by-nc-sa/3.0/ The Court and the Dreamer Pawns https://www.wsj.com/articles/the-court-and-the-dreamer-pawns-11573517389 https://www.wsj.com/articles/the-court-and-the-dreamer-pawns-11573517389 Tue, 12 Nov 2019 00:09:00 UTC RSSOpinion They deserve legal status but judges pre-empted a political compromise. http://creativecommons.org/licenses/by-nc-sa/3.0/ Another Reason Texas Rocks https://www.wsj.com/articles/another-reason-texas-rocks-11573517360 https://www.wsj.com/articles/another-reason-texas-rocks-11573517360 Tue, 12 Nov 2019 00:09:00 UTC RSSOpinion Lone Star State voters pass new protection against an income tax. http://creativecommons.org/licenses/by-nc-sa/3.0/ Europe Wants Your Annuity https://www.wsj.com/articles/europe-wants-your-annuity-11573517326 https://www.wsj.com/articles/europe-wants-your-annuity-11573517326 Tue, 12 Nov 2019 00:08:00 UTC RSSOpinion Trump officials may fall for the EU’s insurance regulation this week. http://creativecommons.org/licenses/by-nc-sa/3.0/ A Democratic Breakout in Bolivia https://www.wsj.com/articles/a-democratic-breakout-in-bolivia-11573517299 https://www.wsj.com/articles/a-democratic-breakout-in-bolivia-11573517299 Tue, 12 Nov 2019 00:08:00 UTC RSSOpinion Evo Morales resigns but he’ll use the Cuba-Ch�vez playbook to return. http://creativecommons.org/licenses/by-nc-sa/3.0/ Lindsey Graham to Trump's Rescue https://www.wsj.com/articles/lindsey-graham-to-trumps-rescue-11573516047 https://www.wsj.com/articles/lindsey-graham-to-trumps-rescue-11573516047 Mon, 11 Nov 2019 23:47:00 UTC RSSOpinion The senator says impeachment is ‘dead on arrival’ unless the whistleblower testifies. http://creativecommons.org/licenses/by-nc-sa/3.0/ NATO Isn't Dead, but It's Ailing https://www.wsj.com/articles/nato-isnt-dead-but-its-ailing-11573516002 https://www.wsj.com/articles/nato-isnt-dead-but-its-ailing-11573516002 Mon, 11 Nov 2019 23:46:00 UTC RSSOpinion Macron is right that the alliance needs to adapt to a rapidly changing world. http://creativecommons.org/licenses/by-nc-sa/3.0/ Warren's '2 Cents' Come at Your Expense https://www.wsj.com/articles/warrens-2-cents-come-at-your-expense-11573515899 https://www.wsj.com/articles/warrens-2-cents-come-at-your-expense-11573515899 Mon, 11 Nov 2019 23:45:00 UTC RSSOpinion Her levy on wealth would sink stocks, raise interest rates, and confiscate far more than she admits. http://creativecommons.org/licenses/by-nc-sa/3.0/ The Gentle Art of Roughhousing https://www.wsj.com/articles/the-gentle-art-of-roughhousing-11573515853 https://www.wsj.com/articles/the-gentle-art-of-roughhousing-11573515853 Mon, 11 Nov 2019 23:44:00 UTC RSSOpinion I wouldn’t be able to do it if I didn’t have grandchildren. http://creativecommons.org/licenses/by-nc-sa/3.0/ Iraqi Freedom Confronts Iranian Domination https://www.wsj.com/articles/iraqi-freedom-confronts-iranian-domination-11573515793 https://www.wsj.com/articles/iraqi-freedom-confronts-iranian-domination-11573515793 Mon, 11 Nov 2019 23:43:00 UTC RSSOpinion The U.S. has turned toward realpolitik, but it has a strategic interest in backing demonstrators. http://creativecommons.org/licenses/by-nc-sa/3.0/ Abortion Extremists Hijack the U.N. https://www.wsj.com/articles/abortion-extremists-hijack-the-u-n-11573515822 https://www.wsj.com/articles/abortion-extremists-hijack-the-u-n-11573515822 Mon, 11 Nov 2019 23:43:00 UTC RSSOpinion Organizers of the Nairobi Summit attempt to undo the careful consensus forged at Cairo a quarter-century ago. http://creativecommons.org/licenses/by-nc-sa/3.0/